top of page
  • kenahoover

Planes, Rogues, and Doomsday Devices: Ken's Favorite Books of 2022

I barely met my meager Goodreads challenge this year, but only if I count The Books of Magic graphic novel as four titles. In my bookstore days, I devoured books while on break, and I listened to audiobooks during my commute. But no longer. I managed to read about a book a month this year while audio books took even longer. It didn't help that I chose to read several behemoth-sized titles. Real spider squashers. Still, I found a few gems:


Before the Fall - Noah Hawley

You might recognize his name from TV shows like Bones, Fargo, and the Unusuals, but you should take note of his beautiful prose. Hawley is a master craftsman, weaving a complex novel about the survivors of a plane crash and the people surrounding the tragedy. While the primary thread is about the survivors (a struggling painter and a young boy), other chapters tell the backstories of those who died, while others follow the investigation of the crash. This was easily my favorite book of the year.


Rogues -- edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

What a fine collection of stories from many of my favorite authors, including Patrick Rothfuss, Cherie Priest, Joe Abercrombie, Daniel Abraham, Carrie Vaughn, and Neil Gaiman. With such diversity comes amazing stories of every kind of rogue imaginable.


Drakemaster - E.C. Ambrose

Ambrose deserves more credit. Her Dark Apostle series was wonderful, but Drakemaster is an epic fantasy masterpiece. Set in medieval China, and beautifully told from the POVs of multiple fascinating characters -- a warrior monk, a Chinese astronomer's daughter, a slave who also happens to be a European bronzecaster, a dwarf, an assassin -- the story is (oversimply) about a race to find a clockwork doomsday device.


Luke Skywalker Can't Read: And Other Geeky Truths - Ryan Britt

I don't read many nonfiction books, but Britt's essays surprised me with their humor and depth. Even the titles alone are fantastic: "No Luke, Captain Kirk is Your Father," "Wearing Dracula's Pants," "The Birds, the Bees, and Barbarella." If you love pop culture, this is a must-read.


Sidekick: the Tale of Billy the Kid and the Giants of Colorado - Edward J. Knight

Having read the dime novels about legendary heroes, young Billy the Kid is desperate to join "Giant Killer" Cassidy's team. But hearing about legends is one thing; becoming one is another.

Gunslingers + Greek monsters = Mythic West.


Books of Magic - Neil Gaiman

I reread the beautifully illustrated 90s comics about a12-year-old boy named Tim Hunter, who meets DC Comics' most powerful magicians, including John Constantine, Mister E, Doctor Occult, and the Phantom Stranger. These four trenchcoated powerhouse magicians give Tim a tour of DC's magical universe because he has the potential to become the world's most powerful magician, and they want him to make an informed decision before he chooses to embrace or reject this destiny.



What were your faves in 2022? Please let me know.







17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page