top of page
  • kenahoover

January Progress

Updated: Feb 4, 2022

What I'm Writing


My current work-in-progress (WIP) is on track. In fact, I just hit 26K words, which means I'm about 25% done with my first draft. My goal is to finish the draft by summer. Since it is an epic/dark fantasy novel, I need to hit at least 90K. I've been sitting on this project for many years, and I'm super excited to be in this world again. It's set in a criminal underworld, so my Google searches have probably placed me on someone's watchlist.


Four short stories are waiting for slush readers, including a brand-new Midnight Agency tale. As soon as a couple markets open, I'll submit two other stories.


In February, I'll be published in an anthology, which I'll announce on social media when it goes live.



What I've Read


Sidekick by Edward J. Knight

I love a good weird western, and Sidekick has everything I love about the genre…plus freakin’ Jotunheim! But the story is much more than Billy the Kid vs. giants. It reimagines the Old West as it was in the 1800s, after a rift allows mythological creatures, like the Jotunheim, into our world. With fantastic worldbuilding, epic shootouts, and an exploration of what it means to be a hero, I highly recommend it, especially if you like your weird west to be more fantasy than horror. I tore through this one, and I look forward to reading the next in the Mythic West series.


Everything's Fine by Matthew Pridham

I came across this short story by accident. I recognized Matt's name in list of Stephen Graham Jones's favorite reads. Matt and I worked together in my early bookstore days, and this was a weird, wonderfully-crafted story featured on tor.com.


Tishomingo Blues by Elmore Leonard

Only Leonard can write about a daredevil high-diver who gets in over his head (see what I did there?).



What I'm Reading

Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

I've heard great things about Silvia's work, and I'm digging this Aztec vampire novel.


One Kind Favor by Kevin McIlvoy

Kevin was a dear mentor of mine, and I'm always excited to read his work.


The Gutter Prayer by Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan

This is right up my criminal fantasy alley.



Yup. I'm a book nerd.

If you are too, please follow me on Goodreads for more!


And if you enjoyed either of my Midnight Agency books, I'd appreciate a kind rating on Goodreads, Amazon, and/or B&N.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page