top of page
  • kenahoover

And Then June Happened

June was a productivity killer.


Don't get my wrong. Wonderful things happened -- a HS graduation party for my son, college orientation, and an awesome vacation trip. Yay!


This goodness was quickly devoured by not-so-great things, which I won't get into here, but it sure feels like the cosmos likes to balance the good with the bad, doesn't it?


My productivity took a heavy blow, but I'm dusting myself off and getting back to work.



Progress Toward 2022 Goals


Complete a draft of my epic fantasy novel by summer - Completed!

I decided to edit the draft so I can send it to an alpha reader. I need to add a thread of chapters from a new POV, not only to increase the word count to a sellable amount, but also because the novel needs them. This will delay my original plan by a month or two, but it will be worth it.

Also, because June happened, I lost so much editing momentum that I had to start over. Sigh.


Short Stories - on track

Total submissions: 15

Number of acceptances: 1

Magic Portals edited by Sam Knight (published June 10)

Number of rejections: 11

WotF Contest: 1 silver HM (May), one TBD.


Middle-Grade Novel - on track

I submitted the novel to an editor I've worked with before. Fingers crossed.


Blog - on track

I’ve written at least one post a month with a small number of views. I didn't get a chance to write anything more interesting than a status report yet...because June happened. Thanks for your patience.


What I’m Reading - behind schedule

Goal: 25 Books

Read to-date: 12


Rogues edited by George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois

You can't go wrong with this fantastic cast of authors. I'm still making my way through these awesome stories. So far, my faves are from Gillian Flynn, Carrie Vaughn, Scott Lynch, and Cherie Priest.


Drakemaster by EC Ambrose

EC's latest epic historical fantasy novel is awesome in a way I haven't experienced in a while. Each chapter is told from a different, compelling POV with a skill I liken to some of my favorites - GRRM, Daniel Abraham, Robin Hobb. If you're an epic fantasy fan, do yourself a favor and pick this one up. EC's other books are awesome, too. I'll write more about Drakemaster when I'm done, but it's easily on my 2022 Faves list.



*Follow me on Goodreads for more info, and I'll follow you back.

Let's keep reading.


What I'm Watching (spoiler free)

Stranger Things - Netflix

This show feels like it's written for me. It hits all the right 80s notes (see old guest blog post here). Besides the rad 80s references, I love this show because I care deeply for these characters, and that's the real trick as a writer, isn't it? I'm desperately trying to avoid spoilers (unsuccessfully) while I savor these final two episodes of season 4. In the meantime, I may order a Hellfire Club shirt.


Only Murders in the Building - Hulu

Steve Martin is one hell of a novelist (Shopgirl is way up there on my top lit novels), and this series rings like he had his hand in the script. It's goofy in all the right places, smart, and addictive. I'm excited to see where they go with a second season.


Obi Won Kenobi - Disney+

I enjoyed every minute of OWK, even when fans were griping about it. I don't get the negativity toward Star Wars properties. Maybe The Mandalorian set the bar too high for most folks, I don't know. But even The Book of Boba Fett, which seemed to disappoint most people, was way better than the Boba Fett series I got when I was younger (i.e., nothing). Can't we just sit back, stuff homemade popcorn into our mouths, and enjoy the ride?


Cobra Kai - Netflix

Like Stranger Things, this is a fun 80s nostalgia ride. This series has just the right amount of humor, action, drama, and cheese. I love how they pay homage to the original films and characters yet aren't afraid to poke fun at them.


The Orville - Hulu

Ages ago, I'd heard good things about this one from reputable people, but I didn't tune in because I mistakenly thought the show was simply a spoof of the OG Star Trek, which didn't appeal to me. In a desperate search for something humorous to watch, I finally gave it a shot. I've been catching up for awhile now, and I'm glad I did. The Orville, while being silly at times, journeys into deep, important topics while maintaining a balance of drama, action, horror, and humor. Of course, Fox cancelled the show, but Hulu revived it, and the new season is great.


Sadly, I'm watching more shows than this, but I'll stop here for now. More to come.

What are you watching? What do you love?

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page